Australian Biomes

 There are three major biomes in Australia. Each has it's own organisms and climate.

Tropical: this consists of a closed-canopy rain forest or eucalyptus forests with mountain ash and gum trees. The cold tropical rainforests in the Melbourne area were spectacular. Marsupials include: koalas, opossums, platypus, flying foxes,and lyre birds.

Savanna: this is typically, a grassland or woodland area. Inhabitants include: emus, red kangaroos, rabbit bandicoots, and parrots.

 Desert: this area is typically barren of vegetation and desert varieties of eucalptyus and acacia. Animals living here include: the marsupial moles, devil lizards, and parakeets. Notice that the desert barrier of the interior of Australia isolate the four corners of Australia.


Back to the Can Do Story

Back to the Beginning